Boy Scout Troop 101

Troop 101 started in 1915 under the leadership of E.N. Hawke, but was not officially registered as a troop until November of 1917 when it was chartered as Troop 1 by the National Council of Boy Scouts of America.

From its start until November of 1924, Troop 101 had no sponsor. In November 1924, the Kiwanis Club of Monroe, itself only three years old, began sponsorship of Troop 101, and has remained the sole sponsor of the troop. Troop 101 is one of the two oldest troops in the Blackhawk Area Council and the continuous sponsorship relationship with the Monroe Kiwanis is a singular achievement.

From November of 1927 to November of 1936, the Troop was registered as Troop No. 43 as part of the Stateline Council headquartered in Beloit.

In November 1936, the Troop became 101 as part of the U.S. Grant Council. A candlelit Court of Honor at the Green County Courthouse in October 1937 was the first for the new council.

Since the merger of the two councils in the early 1970’s, Troop 101 has been part of the Blackhawk Area Council headquartered in Rockford, IL.

Charter members of the Troop included Dr. Nathan Bear, later instrumental in establishing the Monroe Clinic. The first two Eagle Scouts in this area were from Troop 101. In 1923 Harold Scherer, who later became business manager of the Monroe Clinic, and Gordon Stauffacher, who later practiced medicine in Sedalia, MO., were so honored.

According to current Scoutmaster Ken Friedrichs, there have been 97 Troop 101 Scouts who have achieved the rank of Eagle and he is looking forward to having 101 Eagles from Troop 101.

Troop 101 Eagle Scouts Lowell Stuessy and Matt Urban later served the troop as Scoutmasters. Other Eagles from Troop 101 have included Jim Myers, recently retired as Monroe’s Director of Governmental Operations, Court of Appeals Judge David G. Deininger, and Tom Howe, a Wisconsin Teacher of the Year.

Current Circuit Judge & Kiwanian, James Beer, was a scout in Troop 101 and recalls many troop activities under the leadership of Scoutmaster Roy Hefty. Beer was one of the Troop 101 Scouts that participated in the 1960 National Jamboree in Colorado Springs on a site that is now the Air Force Academy.

The Monroe Kiwanis Club has provided adult leadership and support for the troop as well as funding for adult registration fees and camperships for deserving troop scouts. Scoutmasters during the past 30 years have included Stan Fanson, David Foulker, Dr. John Inman, Matt Urban, Joan Stackpole, and now Ken Friedrichs, who is the son of past Kiwanis President, Milo Friedrichs.

Troop 101 is an active troop with more than 40 Scouts registered. The scouts experience a week every summer at Canyon Camp. In recent years with Friedrichs as Scoutmaster Troop 101 Scouts have had high adventure experiences at Philmont, the Florida Sea Base and Boundary Waters Canoe Base providing the scouts with meaningful outdoor camping experiences.

Troop 101 remains a strong scouting unit with the faithful support of the Monroe Kiwanis Club since 1924!